Student Reflections – Jessie Sarff

If I could sum up the past 10 days in just one word, that would be “wow.”  It doesn’t even come close to fully capturing the experience, but it’s the best I could come up with in the past few hours sitting on this plane.  We are now on our flight from Sydney to San Francisco, and I’m finally able to reflect on just how jam-packed of a week we’ve had.  In my last few blog posts, I completely forgot to mention some of the cool things we had been doing, simply because every single experience was an awesome one.  So my final blog post will be a bit of a recap of things that were missing from the first two.

1st – I’m usually a pretty picky eater, but as they say, “When in Australia” … I tried kangaroo, emu, AND crocodile.  Kangaroo is delicious, but I will probably pass on the other two in the future. (a bit chewy)

2nd – Every person we met with over the course of this week was amazing.  Just when I thought we’d talked to the person that loved their job and what they were doing the most, we met the next person.  My favorite experience was probably meeting with the members of the U.S. Consulate in Sydney.  The way the explained how their American jobs coincided with interests abroad really showed me just how globalized the world is becoming.

3rd – Baker & McKenzie: One of the world’s largest law firms (I believe it is the 2nd largest).  The fact that Georgie Farrant took the time out of what I can only assume is an extremely busy schedule to prepare us the most informative power point presentation is amazing.  This was something she was not required to do, nor was she getting paid to do, and she put hours worth of effort into ensuring that we got something out of it.  Much thanks to her, and the entire firm of Baker & McKenzie for taking the time to meet with us about issue differences with Australia and the United States. – My favorite factoid learned during this presentation is why Australia doesn’t really have a reward system for “whistle blowers”.  Because Australian lawyers don’t have contingency fees, there really is no incentive for lawyers to take on these types of cases.  I just thought it was pretty neat when put into perspective like that!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.