Student Reflections – Thomas Drysdale

I’m still finding it hard to believe that I am writing this blog from Sydney, Australia. So far, the last four days of my life have been nothing short of amazing. The first day we arrived we hit the ground running. After dropping our stuff off, Drew and I wasted no time immediately running over the Sydney Harbor Bridge. The view is stunning from up there as you overlook Sydney Harbor and have a clear view of the Sydney Opera House. The view really makes you forget that you are running several miles. Following the run and attempting to fight off jet lag we all went out to dinner (where we found out that you really have to be quiet while eating your food in Australia). Drew and I grabbed a 14 dollar (translation 58 dollar) cab ride to meet some of the locals he knew down here. I am really glad I got to meet all of these people because I feel like hanging out with actual locals gave me a perspective of what they do for fun and their attitudes towards one another; everyone was extremely friendly and treated me like they had known me for years.

Sunday was the 4k. I was very excited to run a race in a different country and was pleased to take home 7th place. The pancakes after the run were delicious! I loved the museum of crime and justice. It was so interesting to learn about the history of the Sydney justice system (and our helping hand tour guide made it all the better). It is difficult to even begin to explain having drinks at the Sydney Opera House bar. I could try to do so but words can’t even do it justice. Honestly, pictures can’t either. If you want to have a glass of wine in one of the most beautiful places on Earth, pick the Sydney Opera House Bar.

Monday we visited the U.S. Consulate. I really enjoyed learning about the white collar crime mission here in Australia and was happy that everyone was eager to sit down and speak with us. I couldn’t resist taking another run over the bridge. We took the ferry over to Manly in the evening. Manly was beautiful and it was awesome to finally barrel into the ocean. Great times with great people that evening, laughing and telling jokes all night long (hopefully everyone heard them . . . I know the lady on the ferry did). The trip has been amazing thus far and I feel like we have so much more to go. This is an experience of a lifetime and I am so happy to be here!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.